Best Pre-PFT Meals

Btom95

Unverified
Hi, I'm a college senior applying for Marine PLC. Sorry if this is the wrong thread, I'm still pretty new to this site and I'm not sure how to navigate it completely. Anyway, I've run two PFT's and have actually surprised myself with my scores. I'm very confident in my pull-ups and crunches but when it comes to my run, I feel like my body just kind of drags. I do plenty of running for my training program and I eat well. It seems like it just hits me during the PFT and my body just loves much slower than my brain if you know what I mean. I'm guessing this is because of improper nutrition prior to the PFT. What were your guys' preparation for the PFT/CFT/whatever else is similar when it comes to nutrition? Keep in mind I'm a poor college student with limited resources. Thanks.

I do not mean to offend, but your whole post made me laugh out loud.

Only because you are really over thinking this - REALLY overthinking this. But if you want to know:

* No idea what I ate pre-bootcamp while in the DEP. Probably Mountain Dew and a microwaved Chuckwagon
* Bootcamp. Whatever they gave us in the mess hall that morning.
* Fleet. Most likely drank way too much the night prior.
* I never scored less than a 285 (just could not max out those damn pull ups)

All 4 of the above statements are true -

On a more serious note - are you pushing yourself against the Marine Corps PFT standard?
Trying to improve your pullups/crunches/run against a 300 PFT score?

There is your motivation to do better...at least it used to be mine...and still is today as I ride my bike and lift at the gym.

Best of success to you!

BTW - read this.

CHANGES TO THE PHYSICAL FITNESS TEST (PFT), COMBAT FITNESS TEST (CFT), AND BODY COMPOSITION PROGRAM (BCP) > The Official United States Marine Corps Public Website > Messages Display

And this...

11 things Marines need to know about the new PFT, CFT and body composition rules

Last edited: