College Military Preparation Club Idea

Ogriofa

Unverified
INTRODUCTION
Hi all, my name is Jared. I am an Sophomore in university aiming to tackle the Green Beret pipeline after graduation. I have been working on preparing fo said goal by working out, reading books on the topics, listning to podcasts, and building up some applicable skills. I have noticed there are a few of us at my university with similar goals and have happened on the idea of making a club or student organisation within the university dedicated to preparing students for their respective goal selections. My post here will outline this idea and seek to invite any guidance or feedback on the idea. Right now the idea is in its infancy so please do not hesitate to criticize or comment on it. For simplicity sake I’ll be referring to the idea as GSC (Get Selected Club) which is what I’ve taken to calling this club idea. If anyone has any better name idea please do share:)

PURPOSE
The purpose of GSC is to provide a community of likeminded participants to train in skills, standards, and activities towards military selections. This training would aim primarily to prepare participants for success in these selections. That said the club members would not need to be aiming for a specific military selection, or any for that matter, and would be welcome to join the club for the challenge.

COMPONENTS
Participants would undergo physical and mentally challenging activities throughout the course of the club's workings. Whilst the club will create and run some of these activities, members will also be encouraged to participate in activities run by other organisations like Goruck, Spartan Race, Tough Mudder, and so on. Additionally, GSC aims to also better participants' knowledge. This knowledge will be taught in workshops hosted by club members, invited guest speakers, and via a provided reading list. Participating in any activity whether physical or mental is entirely optional.

ACTIVITIES