Life as an officer?

suckitup

Unverified
Hello, I'm a student at Duke and a mid in NROTC. I'm currently a Marine option, but I'm considering attempting to switch to Navy in order to pursue SEAL. Before I even think about beginning to make the switch, I was hoping to get some insight into the life of an officer in MARSOC. My dad was an officer in the Marine Corps for 28 years so I'm familiar with general aspects, but I'm interested in life what life is like as an 0370. How long from commissioning would one be able to put in a package for A&S? Is the new MOS for officers truly a closed loop like this article claims (http://www.marinecorpstimes.com/sto...fficers-get-their-own-career-path/16978397/)? I've heard that officers are still being rotated back to normal infantry command roles after a few years, but I was hoping maybe a CSO on here could validate/invalidate it. I talked with a verified SEAL over on www.reddit.com/r/navyseals and he said as an O, one would be better off in the Teams. I'd be interested to hear your guys' opinions. This might be the wrong place to post this, and if so, I apologize. Any advice/inside is greatly appreciated, thank you guys for your time.

Suckitup, I am not a 0370, however, I can speak to a few of the officer requirements for A&S from research. First, career designation is a must, per the MARADMIN was released almost 18 months ago. For officers, this occurs after a career designation board. You become eligible after 540+ days documented through observed fitness reports which translates to approximately twoish years in the fleet. The current selection rate is 80%. Regardless, you're not eligible per the order until you become a first lieutenant. As for the loop, it is closed, if you desire. Officers can either serve four years as a 0370 and transition back to their original MOS and the FMF, or stay as a 0370. I'd imagine the majority stay.