.*** Looking for advice (swimming and tattoos)

atc722

Unverified
Hey guys, a few things have changed since my introductory post. At the end of July, I enlisted in the Navy and planned on picking up a SO contract. I had never really swam before, especially competitively/laps for time. So, I've been doing CSS for right at two months, and my times on my last PST were: swim-12:42, pushups-66, situps-64, pullups-11, run-10:30. I know these aren't competitive numbers, and my swim still isn't fast enough for a contract yet, but I've still got plenty of improvement ahead of me. Anyways, my mentor/scout called me yesterday asking if I was interested in SWCC or EOD, which I am as well. The reason he asked is because he said out of every 10 guys that had been trying out in the Raleigh recruiting district, 6-7 were wanting to go SO. As a result, the SO contracts are filled until April or so, while there are plenty of EOD and SB contracts up for grabs. My mentor originally went SO, washed out, became an EOD and loved his job. He also mentioned if I keep working for SO numbers, I'll set myself up for better success in one of the other pipelines. SEAL would be my definite goal, but I feel like I can be just as passionate about SWCC. I know the basics about SWCC from the website, but I'm looking for any advice you guys have to offer and any additional information on the SWCC pipeline from someone who has gone down that route.