National Gaurd RSP and Class Dates

agentlank

Unverified
The quick and dirty I'll be 35 in October of this year, so I need to ship before then in order to have a shot at SFAS. I have training obligations that I must meet for my new job (I'm a civil servant with the DoD). I'd like to go ahead and enlist and sign my contract so I have my ship date and everything on paper, but I don't know how flexible the RSP will be in the event I can't attend drill between now and my ship date. I'm a small business owner and currently have jobs lined up that take place on Saturday mornings.

Does anyone have any knowledge or experience with the RSP that they could share? What does a typical RSP weekend look like, are they flexible in allowing you make up the drill on other dates?

I understand IF I make it though the pipeline that my commitment to the group would take precedence over everything else, I'm just trying to plan a best path forward between now and shipping as to not ruffle feathers with my new agency and uphold the obligations that I have previously committed to for my small business.

I had a question regarding report date vs start date on all of these courses. Looking in ATRRS you can see the "report date" and then the "Start date" sometimes there are classes that may overlap by a day or two if you count the "end date" and the "report date".
I just wanted to know if it was possible to take classes back to back, for example. I'm trying to understand how this will look when you account for OSUT, Airborne, SFPC, SFAS, and how stretched out the timeline might get if classes don't overlap at all.

Report Date Start Date End Date
13 Aug 2019 17 Aug 2019 23 Nov 2019 Class XYZ
23 Nov 2019 26 Nov 2019 14 Dec 2019 Class ABC

I called my recruiter and got excused from RSP fairly easily. Just give your reason and it shouldn't be a problem.

Thanks, was that a one time excuse (one drill weekend) or was it several drills that you missed?

Thank you for your response!