Options out of NROTC

Status
Not open for further replies.

COB22

Unverified
Hello all,
I am currently a freshman at Cornell University and a member of both NROTC and the varsity lacrosse team. I have posted on these forums before, primarily about my goal of getting selected to go to BUD/s out of ROTC and eventually becoming a SEAL. However, now that I have actually been at school for a few months and gained some new information (my previous posts were over the summer while I was still in High school), I am seeking some advice regarding my career path. Basically I have been told that it is simply a bad idea to try to get a BUD/s slot out of ROTC. There are just so few spots and my school is so difficult that it is nearly impossible to compete with kids coming out of less demanding schools with higher GPAs. So I am currently planning on switching over to Marine option and I am planning on going Infantry. That being said, I am not certain I am on the right track for what I want out of my career. So on to my questions:

1. Realistically, what are the odds of me getting to see combat as a young Infantry officer, and how many years would I be able to spend kicking down doors, shooting stuff, etc.?

2. Now that MARSOC is an MOS for Officers, are MARSOC officers now placed in administrative jobs (appears this way on recruiting website, have heard mixed information from officers in unit)?

3. Would I be able to complete my 5 years as a Marine officer, then enlist/ commission in the Navy with a BUD/s contract? (Have heard yes from Officers in my unit, no from people on forums similar to this one)