.Quick Question (paging any Recruiters)

Garbageman1776

Unverified
Hey guys,

So I’m meeting with a Marine Recruiter on Monday to get all my paperwork going to possibly begin my life as a Marine serving in the reserves until I finish school, then can hopefully have an easy process switching over to active. I love the idea of being a Marine. I would also like to have the opportunity to someday try out for MARSOC, but I have a lot of maturing and needed experience to get to that point. Anyways, a couple of months ago I was caught with a small amount of marijuana and alcohol in my dorm room (I’m a college student at the moment, looking toward doing reserves so I can finish college at the school I’m at), and what appears on my school record was that it was a disciplinary charge, but that I was still caught with marijuana, marijuana paraphernalia, and alcohol. I was not fingerprinted or arrested and I was not charged with a misdemeanor (it was basically the equivalent to a very small traffic fine). My question is, if I wanted to pursue a career in MARSOC is this something that would prevent me from doing so? I understand I’ll have to get a security clearance and I have since stopped smoking the Mary Jane, am not planning to start it up again, and only had prior occasional use with it (other than that one charge, my record is squeaky clean; also, it expires off of my school record by the time I graduate). Here’s a picture of the screening checklist that I was originally reviewing that confused me.

Attachments

• DE9D1A4E-2B9E-43FF-87F2-15676F367751.jpeg
    DE9D1A4E-2B9E-43FF-87F2-15676F367751.jpeg
    764.7 KB · Views: 32
I've tweaked your thread title a bit to attract any of the recruiters we have on the board.

Best of success to you....