Review of SOF Structure and Culture

A few bad eggs ruined it for the rest of us.
I may be naive in my perspective. I’ll say I’m probably naive. However I joined up hoping for the high Operational tempo and in hopes that I would see combat and often. Most of this scandal within the SEAL teams happened while I was in my pipeline and when I graduated the command had just begun a drastic overhaul of the community.

Last edited:
This article references "Professional development" and holds it in quite high regard. How would you all define Professional Development? It seems to me (a lowly civilian) that a higher degree of operational involvement and participation would better promote boost in effectiveness in training and the field, as opposed to simply more training (not to say that training is ineffective, but that field experience will allow the solider to gain more from said training, because it better applies to a more thorough knowledge base) In all, it seems the most effective way to gain professional development, is in fact to deploy as much as possible. Thoughts?

I can only speak to my experience as an air traffic controller but leadership overlooked alot of discipline issues if the controller was a star performer. As long as planes where moving and not scraping paint they didn't care about good order and discipline. It drove me crazy as NCO knowing that when myself or others brought up issues that leadership would say "but SrA Whatever is one of our best controllers." I can only imagine the pressures of being in a SOF careerfield that's overworked and what may have been overlooked because they were getting the mission done.

Different article on the topic:

Special operations has an entitlement problem. Here’s how they intend to fix it.

This (from the article) stood out to me: