.Tranferring into Navy EOD- looking for professional advice and mentorship

BrowntoBlue

Unverified
Whats up everyone.

My intro will tell mostly all, but long story short, I'm an "academic attrite" from naval aviation. Quotations placed because it was half flyability like maintaining altitude and heading, part written exams, part bad timing. I graduated the program, but low GPA during a force reduction led to me getting dropped.

I was a prior enlisted soldier, with a plan to file my separation from the Navy and get back into the Army to get my boots on the ground. A few months into the paperwork to get out, and I started learning more about what Navy EOD does, which developed into a pretty intense motivation to get into this community. Right now my main focus is physically training for the program, as well as getting out there to visit some units and get some first hand experience with the community.

Here are my concerns.
- I know how academically tough EOD school is. How willing to take an academic attrite will they be? My college GPA was solid. 3.9. I mostly just had a rough transition from college academics to the fire hose military academic style. I did pull it together, just too late to save my GPA. I know I can do it. I figured out my flaws from naval aviation, and had 6 months to stew in the embarrassment of being attrited. I've dealt with a lot of success, never a failure. After experience my first, my motivation to succeed in whatever I do next almost hurts.
- Navy EOD is a pretty small community. I've heard of a lot of people fighting to get into this community. Will they trust my motivation to be in this field? Or look at me like they're second fiddle to aviation. It's not the case. I think aviation just wasn't for me, and direct support of the fight (like eod) should've been. From what I've been told, an interview with an EOD tech is the most important part of my packet. I want him to have as little questions about me as possible.