24 Year Old Civilian

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmd3d

Unverified
I want to start with what is probably a platitude on this site by civilian introductions: thank you to all service members, past and present. I come from a family with a rich tradition of serving our country. My grandfather was a Captain in the Army Air Corps during WWII training 8th Air Force pilots out in California during the War. My uncle flew Lockheed Constellations in the Navy during Vietnam, was shot down, and evaded enemy capture following an emergency landing. I have wanted to join the military all my life. However, I pursued a Bachelors degree at the University of Virginia in History, with hopes of one day becoming an officer through OCS. I graduated from UVA and took a civilian job as I wanted to begin a civilian career that I could possibly return to after military service. I work in finance in Washington, D.C. and despite the lucrative career field and doing work that I find highly intellectually stimulating; my life long goal of military service is more fervid than ever. Despite my familial tradition of military aviation, and my avid interest in military aviation academically, I have ruled out a military flying career. After years of reflection and research I want to lead and work on a team of other men in what I have determined that best suits my personal abilities and interests, which is the face-to-face application of military action and ultimately, violence. Currently, I am applying to Army OCS, with a tentative selection board date in February. However, as I have read deeper into the details of an 18-X contract, I am more than intrigued at the opportunities of this contract to try out and potentially join the Army's most elite group of warriors, The Special Forces. I spoke with a family friend, who is now a General and served in a leadership role during Task Force Dagger. His stories and detailed description of his career in the Special Forces enamored me; the story of t