Aspiring 18X: SFAS Question

JWGen3

Unverified
Hey guys. Quick background/stats on me before my question: 24 years old (soon to be 25), 6’0, 180ibs, 12.1% BF, 79 push-ups (2:00), 91 sit-ups (2:00), 19 pull-ups, 2-mile run: 13:50, 4-year university graduate, currently a slave of corporate America.

I have been training for the past 9 months to finally quit my job to enlist with an 18X contract (yes, I mean enlist. Maybe advance to warrant/CO after 10 years; this isn’t about the money for me). I’m giving up a potentually lucrative/stable life to pursue this dream and obtain the fulfillment & sense of a higher calling that I feel in my bones. That being said, I’m determined to do this in a very precise way: a lifelong career as an SF operator until my body completely deteriorates. This is the life I want and I will die before quitting, so the cadre are gonna have to literally kill me.

My question is, will I be allowed the OPPORTUNITY to die for this? Meaning, if I happen to be a 21 day non-select for whatever reason, will I be able to try again, and again if necessary? I’m very aware of the reality that SF looks for the RIGHT guy, not necessarily the BEST guy. If I happen to not be the “right guy” in my particular class, I want the opportunity to keep trying until I make it (I’ve been told that many guys in SF went through selection multiple times). However, I am not giving up my current life to become a damn cook or supply guy, and I’ve been reading that non-selects are reclassed to bullshit MOSs. Optimally, I make it my first go and this is a non-issue, but I’d like to be prepared for all possibilities. Can anyone with experience verify this for me? It’s been the one thing that has kept me awake at night about all this. Thanks (And yes, I’ve checked the forums and found no conclusive answers).

Soooooo. Hi everyone. Quick pause.

I’m 100% the wrong guy for the answer here. Considering my last week.