Giving to Alumni?

Topkick

Verified Military
SSMP
Military Mentor
Does anyone here ever donate to their university alumni association? I have considered this but feel like I have donated enough by getting an education. Can anyone convince me why I should or shouldn't?

I have, to specific departments/programs. If I give it to the general alumni association I have no clue where it goes.

I agree with your assessment that going to college is "donation" enough. With all the fees, riders, costs, etc., some of which you may not benefit from.

I will say that if I had a gazillion dollars to donate, I would donate it to the school of nursing where I got my nursing degree. They did alright by me, especially when my reserve unit was being activated for Iraq.

Does anyone here ever donate to their university alumni association? I have considered this but feel like I have donated enough by getting an education. Can anyone convince me why I should or shouldn't?
What SpitfireV said.

I have, to specific departments/programs. If I give it to the general alumni association I have no clue where it goes.

I agree with your assessment that going to college is "donation" enough. With all the fees, riders, costs, etc., some of which you may not benefit from.

My alma mater has a student veterans association, but I can't see where it offers anything other than some camaraderie with other vets. I didn't really participate but I would possibly donate here if it was worthwhile.

My alma mater has a student veterans association, but I can't see where it offers anything other than some camaraderie with other vets. I didn't really participate but I would possibly donate here if it was worthwhile.

My first degree was in poli sci. I have given to the department; it has its own library and lounge which is donation-funded. I have given to the school of nursing, because, well, they have been awesome.