Introduction

PhredLegg

Verified Military
Hi all. I am an Army veteran of roughly 30 years and I am joining Shadow Spear in hopes of connecting with some of my old comrades and maybe make some now ones. I'll try to keep this short, but 30 years is a long time to cover in an intro.
First of all, I'd like to list my interests. I have studied the martial arts for the last 25 years (I don't have any belts or certifications and like to keep it that way), so for you that want to discuss the merits of comabat styles, I have studied ShorinJi Kempo, Tae Kwon Do, Ishin-Ryu, KaJuKenBo, Escrima, Tai Chi, Ba Gua, Xing I and Choy Li Fut.
Now for the important stuff, my military bio (which I am very proud of).
smile.png

Enlisted in the Army in 1976 under Delayed Entry and active duty in 1977. Units will be listed chronological with job stuff.
1977 - Delta 4/3 Blue Devils (Basic Combat Training), Ft. Leanard Wood, MO
1977 - Bravo 2/1 Bushmasters (Infantry AIT), Harmony Church, Ft. Benning, GA
Volunteered Airborne, refused for due to contract violation (this will be a recuring theme in my career).
1977 - Charlie 2/39 Inf. Rgmt (Falcon), 1st Brigade, 9th Inf Div, Ft. Lewis, WA
Rifleman/Grenadier/RTO/Asst. Dragon/Armorer (Can you tell I liked to do a lot diffent jobs?)
volunteered Ranger, refused for contract (Again!)
frown.png

1979 - 21st Replacement Battalion, Frankfurt West Germany
Decided at this point that being a REMF wasn't all that bad.
wink.png

1981 - Delta 2/1, "See a REMF, Be a REMF", Ft. Gordon, GA.
Technical Controller School, decided to switch to Signal here, did the Platoon Leader thing too (anybody with an infantry background got stuck with leadership, another recuring theme).
1981 - USACC, White Sands Missile Range, Assistant NCOIC and Signal Soldier. Got to watch all the neat stuff blow things up (this grunt likes to see things go boom).