Public Speaking

Dimethylamine

Field Artillery
Verified Military
Hello, good evening (or morning/afternoon, depending on where you're at), everyone. Glad to see that this forum has been reactivated.

I'm currently an Officer in the Army National Guard and I have been looking at myself especially after getting back from my first deployment. Without trying to toot my own horn here, from what leaders and peers tell me, and from what I've discovered myself is that people tell me I am smart, easy to work with, and extremely patient. However, one of my greatest weakest links is public speaking. If I'm called upon during large meetings, I freeze up and I try to do my best to ignore the anxiety and just go with it, but my fear gets the best of me and I just come across as shaky and non confident. People saying "just be confident" is worthless to me. It's like telling a sick person "Just be healthy." When it comes to briefing my section, my NCOs while in a line company, or doing MDMP for FUOPS, it's business as usual; I work fine.

I reflect back when I was a butter bar (yes, it was only last year, but still), I got pulled aside by someone that didn't want to do their job for doing a brief to the BDE CDR at a Combined Arms Rehearsal, despite me just walking into room to see what was going on. I really didn't have room to say no, so I executed it horribly and looked bad in front of all BDE staff, because my team that I worked with thought the expectations were unreasonable (but I still rolled with it, I can't just not do something because I thought it was dumb), I was unprepared, and nervous.

Sorry for rambling, but I thought I'd give some background. Anyone have any advice, tips, or stories to share on this matter? Thanks. I'd figure I should work on this before I progress any further, because I feel no matter what you know, if you don't have the charisma, people still won't buy what you're selling.