18x Introduction

Quintus

Unverified
Good afternoon everyone,

This week I enlisted as an 18X. I will be making a near cross country trip from a small New England town in late January to arrive at Fort Benning for the Basic Class that starts the first week of February.

About me:

I graduated college a couple weeks ago. After being in limbo about what I wanted to do for at least the rest of my 20's, I marched into the recruiters office and talked to him about signing up. The information I've found here (stumbled upon SS through other SF info sources) has been instrumental in my decision making on what branch and "job" I want to do. I've been passively considering some sort of SF ever since I was in high school, as in it always tickled my fancy, but I never thought I'd actually do it. I really started to consider it much more seriously once I moved back home from college past May to complete my final 6 credits needed to graduate.

During these past 6 months, I worked an internship behind a desk in a sissified office culture. Not for me. In the meantime, I am reading hundreds of articles/threads/stories from SF guys. Am I seriously about to graduate college an already thinking about aborting from a competitive bachelors degree? Why not OCS?, people asked. I had considered OCS, but the fear of being stuck in the Big Army is real. Also, I've read the thread in the 18X mentor program regarding back-up plans to if you do not get selected. Very pragmatic advice there.