Intro

HipshootGoon

Unverified
Hey everyone,

I'm mainly here for soaking everything in and seeing what vetted SOF members had to say, but I wanted to get my intro out of the way.

TL;DR Version: Former 11C looking to re-enlist with 18x possibly on the table, I'll find out when I get to MEPS May 1. Still undecided to jump on it.

I was an active duty 11C in the Army for 7 yrs serving as a Mortar Gunner in 3ID within a light unit and Squad Leader and FDC Chief in 2ID on Strykers. I absolutely loved my job. I did very well in all endeavors, as well as grew personally, and professionally as a leader. I parted ways with the Army in 2017 to focus on my Criminal Justice BA and really move on to the "next big thing". I graduated in 2019 and my hopes to get on with a three-letter agency didn't work out. I got dropped after Phase II because I wasn't competitive enough. Around this time my wife gave birth to our first child and I soon became the stay-at-home dad.

I've been feeling useless and jonesing to do some real work as I'm not the type to sit still. I talked with my wife about re-enlisting and she is very supportive of it. As much as she's enjoying her professional career, she would rather put that on hold so she can stay home with our child and I can pursue what I want to make me happy, support the family at the same time, and it's a relatively easy road to a decent retirement; it's a win-win. I talked with a recruiter and since I have only been out for less than three years I can re-enlist with same job and rank like I never left and I would even get my choice of available duty station.