AFSOC IDMT questions

Stretcher Jockey

IDMT-P
SOF Support
Hello,

I want to preface this with the fact that Ive looked into this topic all over this forum and Google, but no one really mentions it. Im trying to go AFSOC IDMT, or work Search and Rescue with ACC, but I truly cant find any information on this subject. Im a current 4No51 in paramedic school, only been in for about 4 years now. I understand that the aforementioned units want you to be IDMT and paramedic for them, but since I came to medic school first I have to serve my 3 year commitment before applying for IDMT school. Does anyone have more information, or can at least point me in the correct direction? My command isnt exactly helpful with either of these ideas because they all personally believe IDMT is a waste of time and dont want me to "be suckered in" by the Big Blue. Any and all information would be welcome. If this is the wrong place to post, just let me know and I'll do what I can to rectify. Thanks all.

Found any information on your search? Fellow 4N051 whos been searching for AFSOC IDMT information as well with little success.

I'm going to bring up my own dead thread and give myself and anyone else who ever reads this some advice that took me way too long to understand. Be a support guy, or be SOF. IDMT's arent PJ's, not even close. And while being attached to a command that has PJ's, a RQS, or an STS doesn't make you an "operator". If you want to be doing the "cool guy" jobs, go through the pipeline and earn a beret. If you (I) cant cut it then accept that not everyone is meant to be SOF and even they need support troops to get the mission done.

Obviously Ive done some introspection and answered my own questions through a roundabout way. If anyone ever wants to learn more about being a Paramedic for the Air Force (that isn't Pararescue), feel free to PM.