Don't be like this guy.

Marauder06

Intel Enabler
Verified SOF
"I'm not really good at all that intel stuff, but you know what I'm REALLY good at? Running fast. So let's all go do that."

As the new commander of a Military Intelligence Company, I determined to change the culture within my organization. In my estimation, the unit needed to shift more to mental and physical toughness, and move on from a year of reset. To do this, I placed a heavy emphasis on soldiering first, and being an Intelligence professional second.

One of the first actions I took to shake things up was a plan to “smoke” the unit during a Company run.

"Sir, you humiliated us." - A Commander's Lesson in Leadership - The Military Leader

At least he took the feedback on board and did something about it though. That's more than I can say for a lot of so-called leaders out in the world.

Even if the initial decision is a bit baffling.

Is a seven minute mile a smoke fest? I'm a large (200+ lbs) middle aged amphibious mammal and I have no problem keeping a 7 minute mile pace.

Is a seven minute mile a smoke fest? I'm a large (200+ lbs) middle aged amphibious mammal and I have no problem keeping a 7 minute mile pace.
For an MI unit, maybe. There's a huge disparity between the combat arms units (especially airborne or other light units) and support units in the Army as far as physical fitness is concerned.

It frustrates me that the leadership culture we live and work in dictates that a new leader MUST do something to ensure senior leaderships knows he/she lifted their leg on the tree. This despite any existing level of morale or effectiveness that already exists. I saw this explicitly with a senior leader (2-star) that we had to live with for about 2 years and is finally moving on. I get it, if you're not improving your dying. Roger Copy Check, but goddamn it, it better be broke before you try and fix it...

despite any existing level of morale or effectiveness that already exists[/QUOTE said: