entering the SOF community as an officer.

bstino181

Unverified
Hello Everybody! My name is Brian.
I graduated college about a year ago with a BA. My goal is to attend Army OCS and Earn a commission with the intention of getting into a combat arms branch (hopefully infantry branch). My long term goal is to either successfully complete Special forces selection or RASP2. I have read as much from online info as i can find and i have also spoken to a couple recruiters about this topic. (both of them gave me contradicting info...)
Both online info and the recruiters ive spoken to have told me that enlisting gives the best opportunity to pass selection. But it is important to me to earn a commission.
My goal is to become an officer, and then earn the ability to go to either RASP2 or special forces Assessment and selection and hopefully excel.
Ive been told that trying to become an sf officer or attending RASP2 is completely up to chance. and that many officers will spend their entire careers trying to get there and never even have the opportunity to try and pass.

My question is. Does anyone have any experience or any advise for someone who is trying to take this path?
Thank you for your time.
Brian

I'm not in the Army but who are you getting this information from? Guys who made it or guys who didn't. Not everyone makes it but plenty do. It's not impossible.

and that many officers will spend their entire careers trying to get there and never even have the opportunity to try and pass.

SF officers enter via year groups. Your window to make it into SF as an 18A is VERY finite, 1LT/ early Captain timeframe in your career.

Here are some quick anecdotes from my career so far, maybe it will provide some insight for you:

BLUF: Earning the opportunity to APPLY or even ATTEND a selection course whether it be RASP II/SFAS/CA or PSYOPs takes a VERY long time as an Officer and it is not guaranteed; getting selected is a whole other topic that I am not qualified to talk about.