Gerber vs Leatherman

LibertasVeritas

160th Mechanic
Verified SOF
So my old Gerber has finally been relegated to the box of broken shit I'll probably never fix/throw away. I'm in the market for a new multiplier, and I want some opinions on the Gerber Diesel (probably made by communists) and the Leatherman Wave. I've only even owned a Gerber, but the last one I bought had a nice little "Made in the USA" etched into it, and from what I understand, those are non-existent these days. Looking at the Leatherman Wave, but sadly I have no experience with this brand. Anybody have some input? My final purchase will be every day use on a flight line.

I've owned or were issued....5 different types I believe. The only one I bought was a Leatherman Wave. My dad gave me an original Leatherman for Christmas in 1993. Then I have a Gerber, SOG, and a Kershaw I think.

I have ONE complaint about my Wave, one which won't apply to 90% of this board anyway: the sheath sucks. Get an aftermarker pouch for it. If you're already doing that anyway, then you're good.

Some people like the one-handed opening of the Gerber, but I've taken a Dremel and polished the "scrapy bits" on both Leatherman tools I own so that I can flip them like a butterfly knife or whatever.

If I have to buy another tool it will be a Leatherman. The orignal from '93? I broke the very tip off the knife trying to pry open a battery box in '94. It is still going strong. The SOG's design is cumbersome, particularly the tools. The Kershaw's vice grip feature is cool...and that's it; it is also the largest of the 5. The Gerber is fine, nothing really wrong with it. I think my wife carries it in her car and it is well over a decade old, but I'll only buy a Leatherman. They've been bombproof for two decades and I have no complaints...minus the ratty-ass sheath/ pouch.