Mountaineering/Alpinism

BloodStripe

Marine
SOF Support
SSMP
Military Mentor
Anyone here into mountaineering or alpinism? Looking to tackle Mont Blanc in 2024 (unfortunately my wife already planned 2023 vacations and while I am in decent enough shape, where I know I could climb it in 6 months, giving myself a year will for fitness will vastly improve my confidence in knowing that part won’t be my weak link) and the Matterhorn in 2025 as it’s a more technical climb.

I have zero experience with crampons and haven’t hiked at altitude in a very long time so I’m looking at taking an alpine class this spring to learn basics on use plus whatever else.

Anyone here into mountaineering or alpinism? Looking to tackle Mont Blanc in 2024 (unfortunately my wife already planned 2023 vacations and while I am in decent enough shape, where I know I could climb it in 6 months, giving myself a year will for fitness will vastly improve my confidence in knowing that part won’t be my weak link) and the Matterhorn in 2025 as it’s a more technical climb.

I have zero experience with crampons and haven’t hiked at altitude in a very long time so I’m looking at taking an alpine class this spring to learn basics on use plus whatever else.
I climbed Mt. Blanc in 1981 while in the Italian Alpini course...did it again in 1983 with my detachment...in '81, we had been at altitude for 5+ weeks when we did the climb...actually, we did Mt. Blanc du Tacul, Mt. Maudit and then Mt. Blanc proper....three summits over 4000 meters in what was a 20-hour day...I don't recommend doing that. In '83, the group of us that did the climb were in the company of two German Army trained Heeresbergfuehers (military mountain guides)...one was the senior medic on my team, the other a radio operator on another team. Not every guy that was on the exercise made the climb...it is far from a picnic.