My Introduction on my path to SF

Koolis

Unverified
21 years old and recently started the process of clearing my criminal record and training for a 18x contract.
Been wanting to join the military my whole life and felt like I belonged, growing up watching only war movies and fascinated by history.
Went through my highschool JROTC program and excelled very well, I was Drill Team commander, got trophies for orienteering and PT, had straight A's and it was a great time and solidified my love for the military. But then I dropped out of the program after 2 years (stayed in school) due to a messed up home life and social influences growing up in Chicago Illinois.

Father was not in my life and the best thing I had to a father figure was my uncle who is now an officer in the Army. Biggest influence on my life and the only man who was there for me in my childhood.

Been 4 years since I graduated highschool and stuck in the motions of life. Racked up a couple misdemeanors. Learned too many lessons.
Been on the verge of enlisting but life kept holding me back and I felt stuck in my world and the people around me.
I tried to join the national guard because I had a girlfriend a girlfriend at the time I thought I would marry and I tried getting my life together after a couple years but i stopped the process because another life situation (that I wont go into detail publicly) came up.

Now I'm here. I heard about the 18x Contract after talking to an army recruiter and trying to enlist on a ranger contract. and it feels so right. There's a fire in my heart and I never felt like this before. Like everything that life and my experiences has put me through mentally and physically prepared me to be a special forces operator.

My original path was to join as the army and do the best I can to be a ranger and prove to the Army that I'm capable of being a useful special forces operator.