Rangers or SF

Status
Not open for further replies.

lockNload

Unverified
I read on here and various other places that SF and Rangers have distinct cultures. I was hoping someone could elaborate on that for me. Also, I will provide some info on me to perhaps gain some insight from you all on where I best belong. I think I'm drawn more to the missions of Rangers and Delta with conducting DA. I don't have a huge desire to train people. However, I love the fact that SF works in small units and is very autonomous. I also thrive on being given responsibility and engaging in problem solving. I'm aware of the fact that some of the brightest people in the Army serve within SF and not to sound cocky but I consider myself pretty intelligent. It seems that the Rangers stress more traditional pt such as running and push ups whereas SF is focused on rucking and land navigation as the most important physical elements. I'm eager to get downrange since I've been missing out for the past 5 1/2 years so I realize Rangers would let me jump in to the spec ops world rather quickly and see how I like it and get deployed soon. SF on the other hand would require 1 1/2 to 2 years of training. Sorry for the long rant. Feel free to offer any input.

LockNLoad -
if you fill out your profile with some useable info, so I know better with whom I am conversing, I'll answer you on some of the SF items above. I will tell you this, you really need to do more in depth research, and Delta is far down the line for you, you need to be a very seasoned soldier to even think about going that route. sounds like you are a badgefinder, glory hound, braggart from your intro, my guess is you're about 19 and full of piss and vinegar.

You need to check your SA, and your cockiness - you would not do well in either SF or the more specialized units - you don't know how to be a grey man and check your ego at the door.