REVIEW - The Hateful Eight

Ooh-Rah

Semper-Fi
Allow me to preface by saying I've never written a film review before, and I am being very careful not to spoil any critical plot points...

Today I had an opportunity to see the film on its 2015 Roadshow before it opens to general audiences. It was shot on 70mm film and shown only on screens that could support this style of film - Other pictures shot like this include Ben Hur, Mutiny on the Bounty and Battle of the Bulge. The last time this format was used was back in 1966. (Khartoum)

What an outstanding cast! (especially if you enjoy Tarantino flicks), including Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russel, Michael Madsen, and Bruce Dern. It also features Jennifer Jason Leigh in a role you'd not expect her to be capable of; I was impressed.

The Good:
The first half hour or so is spent with dialog between Jackson and Kurt Russell - they are riding in a stage coach so there is some scenery, but mostly just dialog. It SHOULD be boring, but I enjoy both actors and the writing is very witty - feeling each other out, getting to know the other and decide if there can be any type of mutual trust between them.

- Kurt Russell and Michael Madsen had great characters - and they played them very very well.

- There was an intermission at 2 hours in - And it was 15 minutes long - have to wonder if they will do this for wide release.

- If you are going to see this, avoid spoilers. There are a few different twists that change the course of action, I usually hate that stuff, but in this movie it was well done.

One scene in particular made me laugh out loud, Sam Jackson asks if he may sit down next to Bruce Dern (who plays a retired confederate general), the general replies, "Go ahead, according to the Yankees, it's a free country."

The Bad