Pull-Up improvements.

Fucci26

Unverified
I've been working with around 18 pull-ups per set for the past four months. I've tried multiple programs found online, and not willing to try those odd "Perfect Pull-Up" TV infomercial devices. What's some of the variations you guys have used to add some more reps to the bar?

Weighted pull-ups are one way. If you're not using the wide grip with palms out, you should change to that and build your back muscles. If you do that, try doing all of your pull-ups with the bar going behind your head as you pull yourself up. This will build more muscle groups in the back.

I usually use the palms outward. As far as weighted pull-ups go. I have to work out from home, due to conflicting schedules. Therefore, I only have some dumbbells. I've tried placing them between my ankles, but after a few repetitions they just fall. Fox1371, I've never even heard of doing that before with making the bar go behind my head. I just tried it, it's definitely something new. I appreciate the responses, guys.

I usually use the palms outward. As far as weighted pull-ups go. I have to work out from home, due to conflicting schedules. Therefore, I only have some dumbbells. I've tried placing them between my ankles, but after a few repetitions they just fall. Fox1371, I've never even heard of doing that before with making the bar go behind my head. I just tried it, it's definitely something new. I appreciate the responses, guys.
If you grab a weight belt and some chain, you can strap the weight belt around you and hook the chain up to the dumbbell. Do your weighted pull-ups that way.

I've seen that done with weight plates, but I think it'd be a better idea to try the dumbbells like you suggested. Keeping a weight plate in a bedroom is extremely unsightly. My recruiter told me that working my chest also helps pull-ups. But after a few hours searching on health forums, and using my body to actually test this. I'm not a hundred percent on that.