Some Questions about joining Civil Affairs

farmer

Unverified
Greetings, SS. I have some questions about joining CA and would be thrilled if you could walk me through the process a bit.
I know you can sign on directly to a 38b slot in the reserves, but my heart is set on active duty. Which is where I'd like some guidance.
I am not uniquely set on a 38b MOS, I just want to "be part of the team". It seems this leaves one with 2 options
a) sign on for a 68W slot and cross your fingers you get selected in AIT for W2 training
or
b) sign on for another MOS as a SPC (I have a qualifying degree), get a solid year of TIS and try out.

Here are my questions, if you have some time to help a hopeful out

1)Are these two option generally correct? Is there others I'm not seeing?
2) Arguendo you go option "1" and do not get lucky in AIT, can a 68W SPC who meets all the other criteria then try out for a 38b when TIS requirements are met? Is this a way to get "two bites" at the apple?
3)Assuming I go option 2, are all MOS' considered equal? I don't see any de jure rules about which MOS' are eligible/ineligible to apply, but are there informal preferences? Is a 13f genuinely on an equal footing with a, say, food service or the like? Is there a "feeder" MOS you'd recommend? Perhaps something in the 35 series?
4) I see CA has an official APFT requirement of 210, but I also see this forum is full of people who are getting 300+ scores. I'm not going into this with the idea to seek to do minimum, but I am also realistic in my self appraisal and I am never going to be a 300+ guy. Some people have it, some don't. I don't. I've home-tested myself in the 18y/o bracket (forget offhand, i think 17-23?) and got a 260. Is this MOS a field for Supermen or is a 260ish (giving myself room for improvement) going to hack it? The very last thing I want is to be the weakest link.