Workout program advice?

John21

Unverified
So I would say that I'm fairly new to the world of fitness programs and all that jazz and I've been looking into crossfit quite a bit maybe as a method of boosting my general fitness, but at the same time I am also trying to gain mass. I've read conflicting things about the effectiveness of Crossfit and about mass gain from Crossfit, obviously there are "haters" out there when it comes to Crossfit but I figure this is as good a place as any to inquire about it and get an answer from some people with experience(in the military, in tactical units or positions that aren't just civilian fitness fiends) that may have used Crossfit. Has Crossfit been beneficial in regards to being functionally fit, or would I find the same benefits from just following my current program of bodybuilding and running?(I realize that this program creates an uphill battle as far as mass gain goes but I'm trying to train for a spartan race and a potential selection course in the future) But I know that is one thing that supporters of Crossfit preach. Also, does Crossfit promote mass gain or will I potentially lose weight? I'm sitting around 165-170 but I'd like to gain 10 more pounds.

Yeah I can definitely dig it seeing as how it has a military section and seems to go right along with my needs. Thank you

Are you using CF as an all encompassing term for HIIT? or do you mean the brand itself?
What conflicting things have you read about CF's effectiveness? in regards to what?
Have you looked into Military Athlete?
What about SOFWODs?
TF Black above looks pretty sweet too.
What have you found in this forum when this question has been asked in the past?
Why do you want to put on weight?

Weight/mass gain has more to do with what you eat than how you lift.

You could stand to 1) do more research 2) if the research is already done, present your question with more information and less fluff.