.A Confusing Path to MARSOC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gurahiyi

Unverified
Greetings,

I am a high school senior. I am interested in both the Marines and College at this time (I am a high achieving student with considerable scholarships and numerous acceptance letters). I have a... rather atypical idea for my career path and would like your take and advice on it. Upon graduation of HS this May, I will enlist in the Marine Corp under a 0321 MOS (Recon) for four years, hopefully shipping out no later than August. This is to expose myself to the Marine Corp lifestyle, allow personal growth, and meet a personal obligation to serve my country for at least a short time. Following that 4 year enlistment, I will attend college to pursue a batchelor's degree. This should not take me more than 3 years. Following that, I would like to re-enlist but for OCS, and then pursue a 0372 MOS (MARSOC) as a 2nd LT. I am hoping that the prior enlisted grunt experience will allow me to be a more capable leader and will have prepared me for A&S (provided I keep training throughout college, of course). One question I have currently is would it be possible for me to go straight from Recon to MARSOC (skipping the college break) and then go for the degree and OCS while still in the military (while retaining the 0372 MOS of course)?

Regards,
A Curious Student

hopefully shipping out no later than August

look forward to around a 9 month wait if you plan on joining with an infantry contract. Its part of the reason I started looking at other branches. Many people want to be grunts but the Marine Corps simply cant take everyone at once. If you are smart, enlist now and start the Delayed Entry Program now so you will ship sooner rather than latter.

Above all keep at it, and start getting physically fit now. Being a Marine Corps grunt is no easy task and will require your full commitment.