Nightforce vs. Leupold

RangerRudy

Ranger
Verified SOF
All I've ever used for optics is Leupold, both in the military and LE side. One of my LE SS instructors had an AI with a Nightforce scope. It seemed to be built very well, and I liked the idea of laser etching the reticle.

Before I drop down money on either (Zeiss is also on the list), I'd like some feedback from anyone who has a Nightforce. Thanks.

I'm a big fan of Nightforce, I've been using them for about 6 years now. I will never go back to a Leup'y again.

Quality is outstanding, adjustments are true, and the glass is excellent. Price sucks, but well worth the investment.

A buddy of mine has allowed me to use his AI (surgeon) with a nightforce... nice... he went back to a custom Leupold on his DPMS Custom.... and has moved both scopes on both... I'll take the Leupold/AI combo. The Leupold is a custom, Horus/superfine/etched... not an off the shelf.

eta: I sometimes hate the owner, he's placed highly in the SOCOM Sniper Comp, and gets huge discounts on rifles and optics because of it - the leupold should have been a 4K scope and he got it for about 1K... but he is a friend and fellow SF guy, and lets me play with his toys.

$4k for a Leupold is crazy (I get your buddy didn't pay that, $1k is an awesome deal), I get custom, but for coin like that, I would be all over Schmidt & Bender or US Optics, etc.

I'm a bit stuck on old school, I'm still working MIL/MOA. I need to move on to MIL/MIL just for the simplicity of it, but I've been doing MIL/MOA for well over a decade, and then to change all my kit, data, etc.... I just don't have the coin or time to do all that right now.

A good buddy of mine is all about Horus reticles, but my minimal ranged time with it, just didn't have me jumping across the street. I'll stick with my mil-dots (for now anyway).

2013-10-04 12.53.11.jpg

Last edited: