Police diver

leonrazurado

Aviation Ordnance
Verified Military
Anyone here part of a police dive team? I just completed my open water certification and am scheduling my advanced open water cert. Still have many classes and courses to take afterwards and that's assuming I make it past the tryouts.

Hey brother! I am a rescue diver for Loudon County Dive Rescue Team. I'm also a Lieutenant with the Loudon Co Sheriffs Office. Most of the divers on the team are law enforcement. We have a lot of lakes and rivers in our county. We do evidence recovery and and body recoveries. What questions do you have?

The guys on my departments team all have only positive things to say about the job. Now, I know that it will vary from team to team, but what are the downsides of the job? I'm totally new to the diving world, and the only experiences I have are in controlled training environments. If I make the team, I'll start part time, but due to some upcoming retirements, I could full time pretty soon afterwards.

I'm on patrol so I won't get any opportunities to work with them until I make the team, aside from taking courses from them.

I was on a county LE dive team (but not a LEO). I was a SAR diver. Well, "search" diver...by the time they need us there is no "rescue."

Lots of "free" diving and training, no real downside for me. I will say if your time has been "controlled" try controlled diving (i.e., "pool") with a blackened mask, feeling for objects. Make sure you have a dive buddy!