Questions for SWAT operators both ex-military and no prior military...

fightforit

Unverified
Hello and sorry ahead of time if this is not the appropriate thread to be posting this in, I am new to the forums and as far as I could tell this was my best option as there is no "SWAT Mentor Program" thread. I am a college student that will be graduating with a degree in criminal justice within the next year and was hoping to have a conversation with a few different people that fit the description in the title of the thread. I would be very appreciative of any people open to answering a few simple questions I had via private message.

Thanks a lot.

You're putting the 1000 m target in front of the 20 m.

Look, lots of those (Even former special ops types) looking to cross over to the blue, want to be on knock knock tms, kick doors, Hi Risk Ap tms etc etc.

The fact is this - wherever it is you wind up, you'll be putting in your time doing the basics first and learning everything a cop needs to learn before ever being considered a serious candidate.

The absolute minimum is at least 2 years and usually, that's only with a proven SOF background. Plan more on 5.

You may think the ordinary is boring, but you'll find out quick, you've got an awfully lot to learn, once you step out of academia and onto the streets.

Bottom line - be the best there is at what you do and learn everything you can. The slots aren't going anywhere and will be there when you're ready and they're interested in your audition.

You're putting the 1000 m target in front of the 20 m.

Look, lots of those (Even former special ops types) looking to cross over to the blue, want to be on knock knock tms, kick doors, Hi Risk Ap tms etc etc.

The fact is this - wherever it is you wind up, you'll be putting in your time doing the basics first and learning everything a cop needs to learn before ever being considered a serious candidate.