Special Operations Preparation Clubs ROTC

foxhound77

Unverified
I was wondering if anyone can provide any information about selection prep programs that either NROTC or AFROTC units run in California or Maryland. Thanks!

I didn't even know that was a thing, so I can't help personally. But I hope you get the answers you're looking for.

I was an Army ROTC instructor and never heard of anything like this. You had to branch and commission first. It's been a minute, so maybe something changed. You can however attend hooah schools and participate on the school's Ranger team while in ROTC.

I was wondering if anyone can provide any information about selection prep programs that either NROTC or AFROTC units run in California or Maryland. Thanks!

Right out of high school in '91, I wasted a year in NROTC. IIRC those clubs were program-sanctioned informal groups. Maybe they had a faculty mentor, it's been a minute. Anywho, the clubs weren't consistent from one school to the next. I think we had something like 80-100 folks across all 4 years and I can only recall 2 who wanted SEAL/ EOD.

The number of officers in NAVSPECWAR is tiny compared to your big 3 unrestricted line groups of SWO, aviation, and subs. When you think about the number of NROTC programs, the Academy, and even OCS as feeders into NAVSPECWAR, the odds of a ROTC program with a dedicated club has to be quite low. Maybe one is out there, but you only have 77 NROTC programs with 5 in Cali and 2 in MD.

Out of curiosity, I checked 3 programs' official websites. None mentioned any clubs in any form or fashion. You're probably stuck with calling the individual NROTC programs or getting your Google on and going to each program's website.

Association of NROTC Colleges and Universities

I know locally the NROTC units run an informal SOF prep thing. It's a lot of PT and rucking; you know, stuff no one wants to do (except SOF candidates and Marine option).