tacp guidance

Jnorton017

Unverified
Hey everyone..
First off I understand that majority of tacp isn't special operations, but I couldn't find a thread for tacp. I was looking for the tacp mentor group that I saw a few people have mentioned but couldn't find it so any help with that would be appreciated. So to the point.. I'm a recent college grad criminal justice major looking to transition into becoming a tacp. I have done a bunch of research and understand the mission set and type of shape you need to be in. I played football all in college so i am relativity in shape just started switching to incorporating more endurance and body weight work outs and farther running distances. So my options were to try and go ANG TACP and in the off time try and get into a police academy, or just do active duty and then guard/LE after. Wanted to get some perspective from any past tacp's who have done either. I've spoken to tacp's or have read mixed reviews of some saying you should do AD or they think reserves would be a better set up in their opinion. Also if i do ANG i have 2 options in terms of bases to choose from middletown/indian gap pa or the south jersey egg harbor township base wanted to see if anyone had experience with either one, both are equal distance for me. Basically so far guys told me indian gap covers stryker, and some light infantry units and egg habor covers mainly infantry only. If someone wants to spill some knowledge of what supporting both of those types of units is like. Sorry for the novel.