Vehicle maintenance

RustyShackleford

Ranger
Verified SOF
This is a spin off from another thread.

I am no mechanic, but over the last two decades or so I have done 99.9% of the regular maintenance (oil, other fluids, shocks, brakes, etc.) on the car/truck at the house. With the help of a neighbor who worked at Ford for 18 years, rebuilt the engine on the old 1999 F150, that was just traded in with 176k miles on it. Over the years and with the assistance of YouTube, online Ford forums, and a Haynes manual, I figured out tie rods, fuel pumps, and some other odds and ends that would have costs hundreds of dollars or more at the dealership or other shops.

Who else here works on their POVs and what resources do you use? As mentioned above, You Tube and F150online are two awesome resources that have helped me in certain situations.

The hardest thing I have done mechanically is to replace an automatic transmission in my Jeep Wrangler. I purchased a used rebuilt one, put it in my Jeep where I then rebuilt it and sold it for more than I purchased the one in my Jeep for. I relied heavily on a Jeep Forum and YouTube. I think YouTube is a fabulous resource to use for many repair projects.

I do all my own wrenching for repair/replacement, to include body work. Grew up doing it as my first vehicle was a Jeep wrangler that I jacked up and tricked out, to the many many old trucks I've pieced together, etc. If its mechanical or structural, I prefer to do my own repair's. However, I quit doing oil change's as my buddy runs a jiffy lube and I trust him, and it's honestly a pain in the ass, nasty mess and having to make multiple trips to buy and dispose has made that 29.99 worth it to me and besides I get to BS with my buddy this way.