35L Information

@GOTWA
Hey, a few short questions if you don't mind. Currently, I hold a bachelor cyber security degree, and I got into the work force and hated it, I got a degree thinking money would solely make me happy and I was wrong.

1. Is this anything like an agent or is this a majority of desk work? Ignoring the romanticization of intel, I'm not clawing to do James Bond stuff, but if I only do a 4 year contract enlisting straight into 35L will a majority of my time be spent behind a desk? I enjoy hands on activity infinitely more than I do staring at a computer screen.

2. Does this job translate well into civilian side? I ask this in relevance hoping to work for the CIA, FBI or DEA, however, my friend currently in the army told me I'd be better off trying to go to Ranger Batt if I wanted to work there.

3. I saw online and through google, reddit and rallypoint(?) that this job is a glorified Mall Cop and looked down on by most of the army as no different than an MP. Is this the case? Not trying to sound like I have a problem with those or that I want to be respected/have a crazy amount of power. I was just wondering if this is the same as any other Federal LEO job there is or if its a LEO Lite or something like that.

Thanks in advance, I have talked to a recruiter and have taken the ASVAB, it's really just about picking a contract now and I don't know shit about this subject so I was hoping to get some advice.

Hopefully GOTWA can give you some up to date info, but here is my 2 cents from being a 35L.

1. Like anything else, it depends on what unit you go to, different jobs if you are assigned to a tactical intel unit or assigned to a 902nd detachment. At the end of a four year enlistment you only start knowing your MOS. But, an enlistment/Honorable discharge with an TS/SCI is always good for later employment.