I have a question on a new Senate Canidate

Scotth

Verified Military
I new guy jump into the race for Kerry's old senate seat in Mass. He says he is;

“In my military career, at the U.S. Naval Academy, as a Navy aircraft carrier pilot and as a Navy SEAL, I learned one thing above all else — serving others is more important than being served,” Gomez said in a public statement.
I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, I just haven't heard of to many Navy Officers who had a career as an aviator and a SEAL. Can anyone confirm this as accurate?
From what I read on another site he was only in the Navy 9 years which seems like a pretty short time to have a career in both fields without one ending very prematurely.​
Thanks

I understand what is in the print media is saying. Thanks for the link to the article that I linked in the first post.:-"

What I'm looking for is a little better confirmation from people in the know and not just trusting what the media says. Like I said I find it funny that the guy was in the Navy for only 9 years and in two of the highest profile and costly careers. The Navy spends a lot of money training aviator's and SEALs and I don't see how they would let him move between those careers voluntarily after the money they had invested in him. If he had a 20 year career it wouldn't strike me so strange.

He wouldn't be the first politician that "enhanced" his military resume. Maybe it all is legit, I don't know, it just strikes me as wierd.

The link you posted didn't work, so I posted one that did. ;-)

I'm pretty sure if this guy isn't legit, he'll be outed on one of the other forums that has more SEALs on it.

http://www.masslive.com/politics/index.ssf/2013/02/republican_former_navy_seal_ga.html

According to a biography on his campaign website, Gomez was born in Los Angeles to Colombian immigrants. An introductory video features Gomez first introducing himself in Spanish, before switching to English.