.Questions about Navy EOD (Officer specifically)

Will2001

Unverified
Hey! I am very new to this site so please excuse me if I put this in the wrong spot, and if I did please let me know so I can move it to the right spot. But I am a 17 year old student and my main goal is to one day become a Naval EOD Officer. Some more specifics about who I am/what I do etc. can be found here.

To keep it short and simple, I would love to be a Navy EOD Officer specifically because bombs, explosives, and making things go boom have always interested me. I also very much enjoy swimming, diving, and doing things underwater, and from what I have gathered the Navy is the only branch that does this with their EOD teams. Also, the reason I would like to be an Officer is because I have always found myself to be a good manager/overseer, it's just always been a skill I feel I have had.

To achieve this goal I plan to do NROTC, my path to commissioning is pretty planned out, but that isn't what this post is about so I won't stay on that for too long. The main reason I am making this post is because I am 100% aware I have A LOT of growing, maturing, and learning to do before I can consider myself ready to be an EOD Officer in the Navy. I am in good shape, however there is always room for improvement, and I have leadership ability to an extent (Captain of my HS wrestling team), but I would still consider myself far from the level I need to be to take on this challenge.