Option 40 during DEP enlistment

Upriver

Unverified
Hello, I am currently a student planning on enlisting into a Delayed Entry enlistment with 11x. I have asked for option 40 to be added onto the enlistment of the 11x however the recruiter has said that there is a possible way to amend the contract if signed 11x without option 40, adding it later on when I do get sent to basic training.
Getting an option 40 contract after leaving the DEP
Here was a similar situation to mine, however I suppose my question is that given the almost 10 month wait until I do get sent to basic training, if it is possible with that amount of time to actually amend a contract of if what the recruiter is feeding me is BS.
The recruiters justification for waiting later to get me an option 40 added onto it is that he wants to wait till the start of the military fiscal year to see if there will be any enlistment benefits for option 40 enlistees.
I got a 91 on my ASVAB and a 121 GT score, I don't know if this in any way affects my current situation for I don't know if higher scores after the 105 GT required for option 40 in any way makes you seem like a more appealing option.

Bottom line is this: If you want an IRONCLAD OPTION 40 CONTRACT, THEN DON'T SIGN ANYTHING WITHOUT IT INCLUDED.

Hold out and be patient if that's what you truly want. Anything else is a roll of the dice and a crap shoot.

I'll let the recruiter know that I would rather hold out for option 40, but I suppose to be more specific I was wondering if it was even possible to make such an amendment to a contract.

The fact that you want to know indicates you want to be assigned to the Ranger Regiment.

If that’s true don’t sign anything that doesn’t say Option 40. It won’t guarantee you’ll get in but it will guarantee you a shot.

N.B. Not a Ranger; I’m a dirty nasty leg.