USMC DEP/Recruiting Issue

FacFortia

Marine
Verified Military
Members of SS,

Recently, I've been having issues with my recruiter. He is well aware of my aspirations to attend BRPC/BRC and become a Recon Marine. For a while, he told me that there were Recon slots open for June 2017 (my original ship date), but a few months ago, he reneged that and told me there are likely slots open in the spring, so I made arrangements to graduate this past December in order to seize that opportunity. December rolls around and I've graduated high school with flying colors, so I go to my recruiter and ask if he's found a Reconaissance slot for me... he then tells me that he doesn't know and he can't look to see what's open. For months I've felt strung along and like he's been blowing smoke up my ass. Needless to say, I was pissed.

I'm a high school graduate with absolutely no clue as to when I'm shipping or whether or not I'll have a Recon job while there are Poolees still in high school that already have contracts and ship dates, so naturally I went to my SNCOIC, told her I was frustrated and wanted to go to boot camp. She was very understanding and told me that they could send me to MEPS on priority standby on 20170205 and I would ship to boot then. I thought, "Great! I get to leave earlier than I thought.", but I found out later, after asking more questions, that when you go to MEPS on standby... you go open contract. I don't want to go to boot camp without that HZ contract: it's what I've wanted to do since I first DEP'd and it's my dream.

After my family relocated to Colorado, I went to go talk to the recruiters there to see about coming to their PT sessions to stay squared-away until boot (if I ever actually got there), and built a decent rapport with one of the recruiters.